Technician of the Year
Share |

The AEMP Education Foundation Technician of the Year Award is presented annually to the individual who exemplifies the heavy equipment profession’s best technician. In recognizing technicians who are models of excellence within the profession, we have two goals:

  • Elevate the stature of the career.
  • Bring awareness to the critical issue of the crippling technician shortage found across the entire industry.


The nomination process begins with the employer submitting a nomination for their technician using the electronic form below. All technicians with at least 5 years of experience are eligible to be nominated. Dealer technicians are not eligible for the award at this time. The deadline for nominations is June 5, 2020.


Nominees have received an electronic application form to learn more about their education, experience, credentials, safety record and philosophy, innovation and professional presence.


All finalists will be recognized at the 2020 AEMP Equipment SHIFT Conference, October 13-15 in Cincinnati, OH. The winner(s) will receive:

  • Free airfare and two nights lodging at the 2020 AEMP Equipment SHIFT Conference
  • A custom-built John Deere toolbox and merchandise
  • National recognition in EquipmentWorld and Equipment Manager emails
  • Complimentary membership in AEMP for one year
  • Complimentary enrollment in the EMS certificate program & exam


To learn more about the award, rules, expectations and timeline, please click here download our Technician of the Year Information sheet for Nominators and Candidates.


Ready to nominate your superstar technician? Start here:


© 2019 AEMP